VMS-Washington – 8 Great StumbleUpon Tips To Maximize Your Web Results

Posted: 27 March, 2012 in Social Media
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With over 8 million members, StumbleUpon is a web 2.0 community site that discovers great websites and matches them to your interests. Its features allow users to rate Web pages, photos, and videos that are personalized to you using social-networking. StumbleUpon is a great place to discover new interesting articles, useful apps and funny videos. Aside from that, StumbleUpon has the potential to get new visitor traffic and generate some new fans. Many website owners and bloggers encourage the sharing of their articles to StumbleUpon in hopes of driving traffic to their sites. StumbleUpon can be a very powerful tool; when used correctly, some stumblers have garnered up to several thousand hits on a single post, in a single day.

If your looking to maximize results from StumbleUpon with minimal effort check out the tips and video below that cover how to use StumbleUpon effectively.

8  Great StumbleUpon Tips To Maximize Your Web Result

1. Add A Real Photo – Add a photo to reveal that you’re a real person. This is a straightforward task and one of the simplest things to do. Prove you’re a real person and people will more likely follow you. On the top right bar click ‘Settings’ and on the page that loads, click the ‘Profile Picture’ tab. 

2. Write A Catching Intro – The intro which is the spot next to your photo is another important addition. A new visitor who lands on your page will see this next to your photo which will help with credibility and proves you have a blog. Make sure to include links and apply HTML. For instance you can use the tag to separate all links from the actual bio. That way you make them more visible and you add a neat look to the whole intro. Keep in mind that using keywords as your anchor text won’t work, so just go with your blog name.

3. Take Advantage Of The Share Feature -The share feature is a good way to get more likes on your content which gives your content higher priority. “Sharing” can be done in two ways – via the StumbleUpon toolbar, by clicking “Share” and choosing the stumblers you want to share your content with or through the “Your favorites” page. After having someone followed on StumbleUpon a check-box “accept shares to my toolbar” below the “Follow” button appears. Sharing works reciprocally only. Even if you have checked the box, you won’t be able to see the other person’s shares unless he also accepts your shares and vice versa.

4. Get People To Follow You -Getting more followers on StumbleUpon isn’t as easy. Quality content is the single most important reason why people follow you. Problem is that in order to click the “Follow” button, people first need to find you. That can hardly happen simply by making a few stumbles. First place to focus your efforts is your blog and more specifically the “About” page. Believe it or not, the “About” page is one of the most visited places in a blog, so you’ll get plenty of visibility. My second approach is TwitterEvery now and then I’m posting a tweet along the lines of “Are you a StumbleUpon user? Check out my favorites!” Following others and getting them to follow back is another powerful technique. Unlike Twitter, StumbleUpon isn’t really about building relationships and engaging with others, so I don’t see a problem with the strategy.

5. Link to Other Bloggers Who Use StumbleUpon – If anyone links back to you, stumble that post. And be gracious when other people Stumble your pages and content. Say thank you! Positive and genuine interactions, partnerships and content are what give StumbleUpon and other social networking tools power.

6. Track Your StumbleUpon Favorites – It’s important when Stumbling your own website content to track and test which pages get the most attention. Then you know how to create specific content to StumbleUpon users.

7. Don’t Add Stumble Upon Buttons To Your Site – Social sharing buttons and widgets are great: they help your visitors to submit your stories fast to the social and bookmarking sites of their choice. But did you know that onsite SU buttons could be detrimental? StumbleUpon wants you to use the toolbar rather than using special widgets that “stumble” automatically. Simply use the toolbar on a regular basis, clicking I-like-it at any page other members would like to stumble upon. 

8. Keep a Good Follow / Followers Ratio – There is a limit of how many people you can followUnlike Twitter, that limit is fixed, currently at 500 followers. So in order to apply the ‘follow-back’ strategy, you will need to know who to stop following. I first unfollow the least active users. Everyone who hasn’t stumbled (again don’t confuse ‘stumbled’ with hasn’t been online) since more than five days is being unfollowed. After I’ve done that, I go through every page and open all profiles to find stumblers with similarity meter, showing less than 20%. They get unfollowed as well. Then I start unfollowing, folks who aren’t following back.

I hope that the above tips help you to make your Stumbleupon experience a better one and further contribute to the community.

Let us know about your experience of using stumbleupon in the comments.

Thank you for reading this blog.  If you have any questions or suggestions contact me.

Comments
  1. […] Please read my 8 Great StumbleUpon Tips to Maximize Your Web Results […]

  2. I believe this site holds some rattling wonderful information for everyone. “The individual will always be a minority. If a man is in a minority of one, we lock him up.” by Oliver Wendell Holmes.

  3. As a Newbie, I am constantly exploring online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  4. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “We know what happens to people who stay in the middle of the road. They get run over.” by Ambrose Gwinett Bierce.

  5. Hello, just wanted to say, I liked this blog post. It was helpful. Keep on posting!

  6. Only wanna remark that you have a very decent web site , I like the style and design it really stands out.

  7. Your personal natural talent and kindness in pressing all things was outstanding. I don’t know what I could have done if I hadn’t discovered such a stage like this. It’s possible to at this time relish my potential. I will not think twice to refer your web site in order to anyone who would need therapy on this subject.

  8. What’s up, just wanted to say, I loved this blog post. It was funny. Keep on posting!

  9. It is truly a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Awesome looking website. I recently built mine and I was looking for some design ideas and you gave me a few. May I ask you whether you developed the website by youself?

  11. I agree with most of your points, but a few need to be discussed further, I will hold a small talk with my partners and maybe I will look for you some suggestion soon.

  12. Get free WSO says:

    This is a good weblog i should say, typically i don????t post comments on others???? blogs but would like to say that this post truly forced me to do so!

  13. I truly enjoy looking through on this web site, it contains fantastic content. “The living is a species of the dead and not a very attractive one.” by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche.

  14. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were extremely helpful very useful

  15. Jacky says:

    I really appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thank you again!

  16. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again!

  17. Love this site and I will return.

  18. Awesome piece of information! May I reference part of this on my blog if I post a backlink to this webpage? Thank you.

  19. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again!

  20. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  21. I haven’t checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  22. You have mentioned very interesting details! ps nice website.

  23. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you have been working with? I’m having some minor security issues with my latest site and I’d like to find something more risk-free. Do you have any recommendations?

  24. adult onesie says:

    I have to say, 8 Great StumbleUpon Tips To Maximize Your Web Results | VMS-Washington is a seriously quality site. I might like to show you my thanks. Cheers, adult onesie

  25. Thank you for you engaging, informative material. I believe many of the views you have mentioned in your article are sound and unique. It’s obvious you are a talented writer.

  26. Very interesting subject, regards for putting up.

  27. I am not real fantastic with English but I find this rattling easy to read.

  28. I simply could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the usual info an individual provide for your guests? Is going to be again steadily in order to inspect new posts.

  29. Some genuinely nice and useful information on this web site, likewise I believe the style has got good features.

  30. faculty says:

    Howdy, I do believe your blog could be having browser compatibility issues. Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, wonderful blog!

  31. Some truly choice posts on this internet site , saved to bookmarks .

  32. Really wonderful info can be found on web site.

  33. Wonderful site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thank you!

  34. Good site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  35. very nice put up, i actually love this web site, keep on it

Leave a Reply

