(Reuters) – The Senate, eager to notch an election-year victory by boosting small business growth, is moving toward prompt passage of a measure that overwhelmingly passed the House of Representatives last week.

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, a Democrat, said on Tuesday he would avoid a prolonged debate and accept the legislation that passed the Republican-controlled House by a vote of 390-23 last week.

The bill aims to encourage job creation by making it easier for small firms to raise capital. But it is not expected to make a major dent in the high U.S. unemployment rate.

“We’re not going to have a knock-down, drag-out fight” on the measure, Reid said on the Senate floor. “If everybody loves the House bill so much, that’s what we’re going to vote on.”

Later, asked by a reporter why Democrats were abandoning their plan to introduce their own jobs bill, Reid cited practicality. “I think a (House) vote of 390-23 was fairly very significant in my thought process,” he said.

The move could also disarm Republican criticism that Democrats were delaying approval of the House jobs bill, at a time when millions of people are unemployed and the national jobless rate is 8.3 percent.

Senate Republican leader Mitch McConnell has warned that if Democrats drafted a “contentious” version instead of taking up the House bill, they would be sending two messages:

“First, that they’re just not serious when they say they’re focused on jobs. And second, that they’d rather spend their time manufacturing gridlock to create the illusion of conflict.”

With Congress facing near record low approval ratings, both parties are eager to convince voters they are working to aid the economy’s recovery.

However, much bigger measures aimed at job creation have stalled in the chamber and moderate Republican Senator Olympia Snowed announced last month she would not seek a fourth term because she was weary of the dysfunction paralyzing the chamber.

The House-passed bill would make it easier for firms to solicit private investors and relax filing requirements associated with initial public offerings.

A senior Senate Democratic aide said Reid will likely try to add an amendment that would reauthorize the U.S. Export-Import Bank, something Republicans have opposed.

If the amendment fails to get folded into the bill, the Senate will still move to pass the overall legislation this month, the aide said.

The Ex-mi Bank, established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, provides financing to U.S. exporters to make sales that are viewed as too risky by private banks.

Its charter is generally renewed for four or five years at a time, but the bank has been operating on temporary authority since October, and has run afoul of Republicans who have branded its mission as “corporate welfare.”

(Reporting By Alexandra Alper and Richard Cowan; editing by Tim Dobbyn and Todd Eastham)

Official Link:

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/03/13/us-usa-congress-capital-idUSTRE81R1N320120313

Comments
  1. trcouvillion says:

    Thanks for sharing about laws that affect small businesses. I love owning my own small business as I feel good about keeping another job position open out thete for someone else while I generate my own revenue. And yet I do wish small businesses owners had more help or incentives to stay in the black!

  2. Laree Walkes says:

    Hello there, just was aware of your blog via Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate when you proceed this in future. Lots of other folks will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs as well as related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, web site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate. Nice task.

  4. Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your great writings. Past few posts are just a bit out of track! come on!

  5. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me & my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such magnificent information being shared freely out there.

  6. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  7. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and include approximately all vital infos. Iˇd like to see more posts like this .

  8. Hello very nice site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to seek out numerous useful info here in the publish, we’d like develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  9. It’s funny you should come up with this as I had been just thinking about it the other day. You have depicted my own views exactly.

  10. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the final section 🙂 I maintain such information much. I used to be looking for this particular info for a long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  11. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and wonderful style and design.

  12. Some genuinely prize posts on this site, saved to bookmarks .

  13. Kredit says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one thankyou for posting .

  14. Very interesting details you have noted, thanks for putting up.

  15. Vitiligo says:

    Thanks for the write up! Also, I noticed that your RSS feeds aren’t working. Could you take a look at that?

  16. Thank you for your blog post. Thomas and I happen to be saving for a new ebook on this matter and your blog post has made us to save all of our money. Your notions really responded all our queries. In fact, greater than what we had recognized in advance of the time we ran into your great blog. My spouse and i no longer have doubts including a troubled mind because you have attended to our own needs right here. Thanks

  17. Dead indited subject matter, thanks for entropy.

  18. sorbetière says:

    Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, appreciate it.

  19. Regards for helping out, great info .

  20. Keep up the wonderful piece of work, I read few posts on this internet site and I believe that your website is really interesting and has got sets of great info.

  21. Its good as your other posts : D, regards for posting .

  22. I like the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great articles.

Leave a Reply

