I have been thinking about creating this post for a while now and I just couldn’t postpone it anymore. I want to share a few things on how I wrote my first book and got published both in print and digital formats. At the end of this post, I will give away three[3] copies of my autobiography to those interested in reading My Life Sentences – A True Story. There are no secrets to this, or it might depend on how you view it. Let us get started.

First, decide what are you want to focus in. Is it fiction or non-fiction? As far as I have come to realize, writing non-fiction is not as complicated as writing fictional genres. If you choose to write non-fiction books, make sure that you know what you are dealing with, readers would rather do other things than waste time reading nonsense. If you instead choose fictional genre, make sure that you have the creativity it takes, the characters and everything that goes into writing a great book.

After deciding what area you want to focus in,research on it, read books under the same brackets/genres, study their structures and how characters are molded and exhaust the resources out there before you start writing your book. One author once said that if you want to write fictional books, read non-fictional books and vice versa. In short, do not limit yourself to one area, after all, most fictional stories are recreated from non-fictional ones. Be creative! NB: Do you think good readers are good writers? Think about it!

Now, let me tell you something about what it took to write My Life Sentences – A True Story; the good and the scary parts of it all. As I said earlier, writing a true story is not as complicated as a fictional one[this is totally an opinion from my experience]. How would you feel if you had a print copy of a book you wrote lying on your shelf? Oh, wait. How would it feel like to have thousands of people around the world reading your personal stories – and you do not know them? The idea that you have no clue who they are helps ease your fears and that is really good! Let us look at the scary page of the whole book!

There are several reasons readers might be irritated by a true story: one could be really poor grammar and flow of the story, two could be the price of the book and of course there are more. Work on those and don’t be a victim of the rage from the readers. The best thing to do is make sure that your story is worth reading, then work on it to the finest level before putting it out there for the whole world to see. This will not only give readers the value for their money and time but also earn you respect as an upcoming author.

It is true that different people do things differently. Some would rather keep their lives private while some [me included] don’t mind sharing their stories – of course the only reason for me is to inspire others [there are other unexpected outcomes like dealing with critics, and more]. I sometimes wonder what readers think about me after reading the last page of my book. Sometimes, such thoughts keep me up way past mid-night. Every time that happens however, I read the most inspiring and encouraging reviews some of them have left on Amazonand feel better again. Another reason to keep writing!

Would you like to have your own book in print and or in Kindle Store? Start working on it. Check out the YouTube video I created below. Please watch it and good luck with your book.

Honestly, writing a book is so rewarding. You enrich readers from all over the world, whether you know them or not. You get rewarded in different ways, some of which you might never know! If you have ideas or questions on writing books, please ask them through the comments option below or contact me directly through the contact page.

I want to give the first three [3] responders my autobiography published in the Kindle Store. All you have to do is send an email with the subject [FREE BOOK] to [elisha.java@gmail.com] and I will email you a copy of my book. This is for Kindle Owners. If you do not receive a copy, remember that I will be doing this again soon. Just be on the look out!

Thank you for reading my blog and I hope it helped you jump start your writing and you are one step closer to being published! Good luck. Please subscribe to my blog!

This is written by Elisha Chirchir

elisha.java@gmail.com

Comments
  1. 7qos says:

    Thank you Elisha for your post. I truly can relate because I have been contemplating for a while to blog too. I’m also very passionate about writing and publishing a book. Your post have inspired and motivated me to begin the journey today. Reading your post resonated to me more than any advice,searches, books and my own fears or doubts. Unfortunately, I do not own a Kindle to participate in receiving a copy of your book, but I will follow you for when you do it again. I will check out the video and let’s keep in touch. Congratulations and thank you again for inspiring an aspiring writer.

Leave a Reply

